Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn


T. Mark Hodges International Service Award

T. Mark Hodges (1933–2006) was a lifelong believer in the importance of international connections between librarians. The T. Mark Hodges International Service Award was established in 2007 to honor outstanding individual achievement in promoting, enabling, and/or delivering improvements in the quality of health information internationally through the development of health information professionals, the improvement of libraries, or an increased use of health information services. 


  • Membership in MLA is not required.
  • Nominees usually would hold a professional library or information science qualification but in the case of exceptional candidates this criterion may be waived.
  • The award is designed to enable MLA to recognize the widest range of achievement in the development of health information services in the international context. It will normally recognize a professional contribution over a sustained period of time, but may also mark a single, outstanding achievement of global significance.
  • The nominee’s achievement may cover the whole range of health information services or a single aspect, and similarly, it may be worldwide in its impact or of more narrow and intense focus.


The Hodges Jury will review nominations and award points based on accomplishments in international service, impact of work, service to the profession, and visibility recognition of work, and major current undertakings.

  • The nomination, including all supporting documentation, must be completed no later than October 15.
  • The nomination must contain at least the following elements:
    • Description of the nominee’s accomplishments in international service, including the nature and quality of the nominee’s work, noting special achievements, innovation, initiative, special strengths, and demonstration of abilities;
    • Description of the nominee’s impact of work on immediate beneficiaries and the extent of its influence beyond those beneficiaries;
    • Description of the nominee’s service to the profession, to relevant professional organizations, and other evidence of his or her professional leadership role;
  • The extent of the visibility and recognition of the nominee’s achievements by colleagues, administrators, and library users; and
  • Description of the nominee’s major current undertakings that demonstrate continuing work and involvement in international health sciences librarianship.
  • Up to three letters of support may be included with the nomination.
  • Nominee's resume or curriculum vitae in support of the nomination may be included.


  • The Award recipient will be notified in March.
  • The recipient will be asked to share a photo and video for the virtual awards ceremony held in April. 
  • The Award recipient will have the option of receiving a cash prize of $500, or a donation from the MLA in the amount of $500 to a charity of their choice in June, after the annual conference.
  • If there are no appropriate candidates, the association may elect not to present the award in a given year.

Ready to Submit a Nomination

  • The award application process is now closed.
  • Applicants and award recipients will be notified in March 2024 with the results.
  • The virtual awards ceremony will be held in April 2024.
  • Nominations for the 2025 award will open in August 2024.

Award Recipients

  • 2024: Masimba Clyde Muziringa
  • 2023: Karin Saric
  • 2022: Erin RB Eldermire
  • 2021: Bethany S. McGowan, AHIP
  • 2020: Laura Shane Godbolt (posthumous)
  • 2019: none awarded
  • 2018: none awarded
  • 2017: Gurpreet Kaur Rana
  • 2016: Elaine Russo Martin
  • 2015: Kimberly Parker
  • 2014: Paulraj Kirubanithi
  • 2013: Pascal Mouhouelo
  • 2012: Alice E. Hadley, AHIP
  • 2011: none awarded
  • 2010: Lenny Rhine, FMLA
  • 2009: Donna Flake
  • 2008: Carol Lefebvre
  • 2007: T. Mark Hodges, FMLA (posthumous)

Have a question? Contact MLA