Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn

Professional Development


MLA specializations help you obtain an additional level of expertise in a specific health information field and provide access to new resources.  Each program requires the completion of an approved curriculum of courses. Courses and other educational offerings are MLA-approved and developed for each specialization.

Completing a specialization program will help you:

  • improve health information services
  • create partnerships
  • enhance ownership of health information expertise
  • learn best practices in providing health information services

Consumer Health Information Specialization

The MLA  Consumer Health Information Specialization (CHIS) offers training in providing health information services to consumers and recognition for the accomplishment of acquiring new health information skills. By earning your CHIS, you acquire skills and knowledge needed to become a confident, expert provider of health information to your community.

Disaster Information Specialization

The Disaster Information Specialization provides participants the opportunity to expand their roles by offering training in providing access to information for disaster and emergency preparedness. Complete required courses for the basic level and an additional 12 contact hours if applying for the advanced level.

Have questions? Please contact MLA's Professional Development Department.

MLA Webinars

Explore Your Identity to Improve Your Practice: An Introduction to Critical Health Sciences Librarianship