Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn


Lucretia W. McClure Excellence in Education Award

The Lucretia W. McClure Excellence in Education Award was established in 1998. The award is named after one of MLA's most respected members and honors outstanding practicing librarians or library educators in the field of health sciences librarianship and informatics who demonstrate skills in one or more of the following areas: teaching, curriculum development, mentoring, research, or leadership in education at local, regional, or national levels.   

Learn more about Lucretia W. McClure, AHIP, FMLA (1925-2019) in MLA Oral Histories from 2015 and 1998. McClure was a regular contributor to MLA News with her Honoring Our Past blog.


  • Nominees must be members of MLA.
  • Nominees must be currently employed as a health sciences librarian or educator at the time of the award and must have worked in such a position for at least five years immediately preceding the award.
  • The nomination may be made for contributions to education as demonstrated by excellence and achievement in service, curriculum development, leadership, publications, presentations, teaching, research, mentoring, special projects, or any combination of these areas.


  • The online nomination must be completed and all supporting documents uploaded no later than October 15.
  • Self-nominations are encouraged and accepted.
  • The nomination must contain at least the following elements:
    • a precise description of the nominee’s achievements;
    • a current curriculum vitae or resume; and
    • any further information which may assist the jury in the evaluation of the nomination and the selection of the recipient.
  • Up to three letters of support may be included with the nomination.
  • Late and incomplete nominations will not be considered.

The recipient will be notified in March and receive a cash award of $500 after the annual conference. If there are no appropriate candidates, the association may elect not to present the award in a given year.

Ready to Submit a Nomination?

  • Nominations for the 2024 award will open in August 2023.

Past Award Recipients

  • 2023: Emily Vardell, AHIP
  • 2022: Andrew S. Hamilton
  • 2021: Jodi L. Philbrick, AHIP
  • 2020: Amy Blevins
  • 2019: Whitney A. Townsend
  • 2018: Mary Edwards
  • 2017: Julia Esparza, AHIP
  • 2016: Jeffrey T. Huber
  • 2015: none awarded
  • 2014: Michele R. Tennant, AHIP
  • 2013: Jonathan Eldredge, AHIP
  • 2012: Janet G. Schnall, AHIP
  • 2011: Gale G. Hannigan, AHIP
  • 2010: Lauren Maggio
  • 2009: K. Ann McKibbon, FMLA
  • 2008: Sarah K. McCord
  • 2007: Renata Geer
  • 2006: Connie Schardt, AHIP, FMLA
  • 2005: Jo Dorsch, AHIP, FMLA
  • 2004: Janis Glover and Kathyrn Nesbit (posthumously)
  • 2003: none awarded
  • 2002: Ellen Gay Detlefsen
  • 2001: Julie J. McGowan, AHIP, FMLA
  • 2000: Ana Cleveland, AHIP, FMLA
  • 1999: Lucretia W. McClure, AHIP, FMLA

Have a question? Contact MLA