Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn

MLA '24 Organizing Committees

Association annual conferences are indebted to the volunteers who organize, plan, and select content for each conference. For 2024, multiple conference committees will combine their efforts for this second hybrid conference, offering both a virtual and in-person full experience for attendees. Not all groups are appointed, so watch here for further updates!

2024 National Program Committee2024 Local Assistance Committee2024 Special Program Committee: Collection Development & Resource Sharing | 2024 Special Program Committee: Leadership

2024 National Program Committee

National Program Committee (NPC) members set the course for the largest gathering of medical librarians and health information professionals in the world. The NPC selects the meeting theme, logo, general schedule, and keynote speakers for the McGovern Lecture and issues the call for submissions for papers, lightning talks, and posters. NPC members also liaise with MLA Domain Hubs to ensure content across all professional practice areas.

Debra Cavanaugh
Medical Library Association
Frances Chu
Providence Health & Services
Carolyn Ching Dennison, AHIP
University of Hawai'i at Mānoa Library
Steven Douglas, AHIP
University of Maryland
Martha Earl
Preston Medical Library UTK
Kate Flewelling, AHIP
Boston University
Ryan Harris, AHIP
University of North Carolina, Charlotte
Gregory Laynor
NYU Grossman School of Medicine
Emily S Mazure, AHIP
Virginia Tech
Terri Ottosen, AHIP
University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill
Katie Prentice, AHIP
The TMC Library
Rose L Turner
University of Pittsburgh
Alessia Zanin-Yost, AHIP
Slippery Rock University

2024 Local Assistance Committee

Local Assistance Committee (LAC) members promote the meeting city, provide local support, gather volunteers, and welcome attendees. The LAC also serve as local experts for dining, tours, sightseeing, and hosts the hospitality information booth.

  • Laura Zeigen, AHIP, Cochair
  • Sola Whitehead, AHIP, Cochair
  • Megan Benfield, AHIP
  • Frances Chu
  • Melinda Davies
  • Rian Debner, AHIP
  • Andrew S. Hamilton
  • Terry Ann Jankowski, AHIP, FMLA
  • Dolores Zegar Judkins, AHIP, FMLA
  • Jan Rene Kuebel-Hernandez, AHIP
  • Rose Relevo
  • Brandon J. Wilkinson

2024 Virtual Assistance Committee

The Virtual Assistance Committee (VAC) will assist with the virtual offerings of the conference.

  • Shalu Gillum, AHIP
  • Layla Heimlich, AHIP
  • Lea Leiniger
  • Elizabeth R. Lorbeer, AHIP
  • Melanie E. Sorsby, AHIP
  • Candice Townsend, AHIP
  • Kathryn Vela
  • Sara Beth Westall

2024 Contributed Content Working Group

The Contributed Content Working Group (CCWG) helps curate content for the annual conference through a peer-review process.

  • Brian L. Baker
  • Dawn Ellen Hackman, AHIP
  • Liz Kellermeyer, AHIP
  • Sylvia McAphee
  • Jaclyn Morales, AHIP
  • David A. Nolfi, AHIP
  • Ariel FitzGerald Pomputius, AHIP
  • Melissa L. Rethlefsen, AHIP
  • Ashley Michelle Thomas
  • Emily Vardell, AHIP

2024 Special Program Committees

Special Program Committees (SPCs) may be appointed to support the organization of topical meetings (summits, symposia, or other) that require it.

Collection Development & Resource Sharing

  • Iris Kovar-Gough, AHIP, Chair
  • Alan Backer
  • Megan Besaw Inam
  • Nicole Theis-Mahon, AHIP
  • Enrique Mares
  • Jen Ostrosky
  • Emily Singley

Leadership & Management

  • Mark Berendsen, Chair
  • Ann Cullen
  • Mary Beth McAteer, AHIP
  • Jolene M. Miller, AHIP
  • Jennifer C. Westrick, AHIP
  • Mark Berendsen
  • Elizabeth Downey
  • Tim Peters

Data Management & Services

  • Elena Azadbakht
  • Jocelyn Swick-Jemison
  • Kristen Adams
  • Gabriele Hayden
  • Mary Piorun, AHIP
  • Rebecca Reznik-Zellen


Special thanks to all MLA volunteers who have given their time and energy to plan this conference!


MLA '24




MLA '24 Latest News

Portland Brunch Spots

Don't Forget to Pack for Portland

View all MLA '24 blog posts.