Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn


Virginia L. and William K. Beatty MLA Volunteer Service Award

The award was established in 2007 to recognizes a medical librarian who has demonstrated outstanding, sustained service to the Medical Library Association (MLA) and the health sciences library profession. The award is named in honor of Virginia L. and William K. Beatty and recognizes their significant contributions to MLA and the profession as longtime volunteers to the association.


The Beatty Jury will review nominations and award points based on membership, contributions to MLA, and service to the profession. 

  • Membership:
    • The nominee must be a current member of MLA and for each of the last ten years immediately preceding the nomination.
    • The nominee must not have served on the MLA Board of Directors or received a national MLA award prior to the time of nomination.
  • Contributions to MLA and the profession:
    • Exceptional contributions to furthering the mission, goals, and objectives of MLA as demonstrated by significant service in the association’s leadership, publications, research, special projects, or combination of these four elements.
    • Outstanding and sustained service to the profession. 


  • The online submission must be completed and supporting documents uploaded no later than October 15.
  • The nomination must include the following elements:
    • a precise description of the nominee’s achievements
    • a current curriculum vitae or resume
    • any further information which may assist the jury in the evaluation of the nomination and the selection of the recipient
  • Late and incomplete nominations will not be considered.


  • The Award recipient will be notified in March and will receive a cash award of $1,000 in June, after the annual conference.
  • The recipient will be asked to share a photo and video for the virtual awards ceremony held in April. 
  • If there are no appropriate candidates, the association may elect not to present the award in a given year.

Ready to Submit a Nomination?

  • The award application process is now closed.
  • Applicants and award recipients will be notified in March 2024 with the results.
  • The virtual awards ceremony will be held in April 2024.
  • Nominations for the 2025 award will open in August 2024.

Award Recipients

  • 2024: Abby L. Adamczyk, AHIP
  • 2023: Andrea C. Kepsel, AHIP
  • 2022: Ryan Harris, AHIP
  • 2021: Nancy Schaefer, AHIP
  • 2020: Margaret A. Hoogland, AHIP
  • 2019: Amy Gische Lyons, AHIP, FMLA
  • 2018: Molly Knapp, AHIP
  • 2017: Marie Tomlinson Ascher
  • 2016: none awarded
  • 2015: Dolores Judkins, AHIP
  • 2014: Janna Lawrence, AHIP
  • 2013: none awarded
  • 2012: Janet L. Cowen, AHIP
  • 2011: Kay E. Wellik
  • 2010: Ann C. Weller
  • 2009: none awarded
  • 2008: Logan Ludwig

Have a question? Contact MLA.