Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn

MLA '19 Logo temp

Register Now Online!

December 2018
Wednesday, December 12 - Friday, January 25, 2019
April 2019
Wednesday, April 3 - Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 9 - Tuesday, April 9, 2019
May 2019
Friday, May 3 - Saturday, May 4, 2019
Saturday, May 4 - Wednesday, May 8, 2019

2019 Awards and Recognition

MLA awards and recognition will be presented during plenary sessions on Sunday and Tuesday mornings, when all meeting attendees can honor their colleagues for their distinguished service to MLA and to health sciences librarianship. Award recipients will be announced in early March 2019. Watch this page for details. 

Sunday, May 5

Welcome and Presidential Address, 9:00 a.m.–10:15 a.m.

  • New Academy of Health Information Professionals members
  • New MLA Fellows
  • President’s Award
  • Marcia C. Noyes Award
  • In Memoriam

John P. McGovern Award Lecture, 10:30 a.m.–11:55 a.m.

  • John P. McGovern Award Lecture recipients
    Sponsored by EBSCO Health

Discovering New Pathways to Information: What Today’s Users Tell Us

    • Vineet Arora
    • Margaret Danilovich
    • Allison Lale
    • Janice M. Phillips

Monday, May 6

Janet Doe Lecture, 9:00 a.m.–10:00 a.m.

  • Janet Doe Lecture recipient
    • Gerald (Jerry) Perry, AHIP, FMLA

Tuesday, May 7

Business Meeting and Inaugural Address, 9:00 a.m.–10:15 a.m.

  • General recognition of volunteers
  • Annual meeting grants
    • Ysabel Bertolucci MLA Annual Meeting Grant: 
    • EBSCO/MLA Annual Meeting Grants
      Sponsored by EBSCO Information Services
  • Professional development grants
    • Naomi C. Broering Hispanic Heritage Grant
    • Continuing Education Grant
    • Hospital Libraries Section/MLA Professional Development Grant
    • Medical Informatics Section/MLA Career Development Grant
  • Scholarships
    • MLA Scholarship
    • MLA Scholarship for Minority Students
  • Community awards
    • Section- and chapter-level awards
    • MLA Section Project of the Year Award
    • Majors/MLA Chapter Project of the Year
      Sponsored by J.A. Majors
  • Rising Stars
    • 2018/2019: Alexandria Leigh Brackett, AHIP; Rachel Helbing, AHIP; Liz Kellermeyer; and Terry Kit Selfe, AHIP 
  • Written works: 
    • Ida and George Eliot Prize
    • Erich Meyerhoff Prize
    • Rittenhouse Award
  • International awards
    • Cunningham Memorial International Fellowship: Deepali Kuberkar
    • Librarians without Borders®/Elsevier Foundation/Research4Life Grants
      Sponsored by the Elsevier Foundation
    • Librarians without Borders® Ursula Poland International Scholarship
  • Achievement awards
    • Virginia L. and William K. Beatty Volunteer Service Award
    • Estelle Brodman Award for the Academic Medical Librarian of the Year
    • Clarivate Analytics/Frank Bradway Rogers Information Advancement Award
    • Lois Ann Colaianni Award for Excellence and Achievement in Hospital Librarianship
    • Consumer Health Librarian of the Year Award
    • Carla J. Funk Governmental Relations Award
    • Lucretia W. McClure Excellence in Education Award
  • Research
    • Clarivate Analytics/MLA Doctoral Fellowship
    • Research Advancement in Health Sciences Librarianship Awards
    • David A. Kronick Traveling Fellowship
    • Donald A. B. Lindberg Research Fellowship
    • MLA Research, Development, and Demonstration Project Grants

You're Invited!


MLA ’19 Registration Is Now Open!

MLA ’19 Continuing Education