Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn


For the most complete display of articles, please login.

Editor - Christine Willis, AHIP
Copy & Production Editor - Charlene M. Dundek
Full Editorial team - Access here
MLAConnect is updated continually. Most articles are restricted to MLA members and/or to members of specific MLA sections. For the most complete display of articles, please login.
Submit to MLAConnect.
Refer to the MLA Style Manual when writing articles.
Products, services, and events published in MLAConnect do not constitute MLA’s endorsement or approval. Opinions expressed in MLAConnect are the authors’ and do not necessarily express those of the association.

No Calendar Items Exist.

MLAConnect < Article detail

Announcing Faculty and Peer Coaches for 2024 Research Training Institute (RTI)

The Research Training Institute (RTI) team is pleased to announce the faculty and peer coaches for the 2024 RTI Online program. 

The Faculty

  • Caitlin Bakker, AHIP, is a discovery technologies librarian at the University of Regina's Dr. John Archer Library and Archives.
  • Ana Cleveland, PhD, AHIP, FMLA, Academic Coordinator, is a regents professor, Sarah Law Kennerly Endowed professor, and director of the Health Informatics Program at the University of North Texas.
  • Nina Exner, PhD, is the research data librarian at Virginia Commonwealth University. 
  • Karen E. Gutzman is head of Research Assessment and Communications at Galter Health Sciences Library & Learning Center at Northwestern University.
  • Mark MacEachern, Co-Faculty Lead, is an informationist at the Taubman Health Sciences Library, University of Michigan–Ann Arbor.
  • Ann Medaille, PhD, is director of Research and Instructional Services at the University of Nevada, Reno. 
  • Emily Vardell, PhD, AHIP, Co-Faculty Lead, is associate professor in the School of Library and Information Management at Emporia State University, Emporia, KS.

The Peer Coaches

  • Helen-Ann Epstein, AHIP-D, FMLA, is the informationist at the Virtua Health Sciences Library at Virtua Health. 
  • Colleen Foy, AHIP, is Research and Instruction Librarian at Z. Smith Reynolds Library at Wake Forest University
  • Rachel Hinrichs, AHIP, is a health sciences librarian at Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis. 
  • Annie "Nicky" Nickum, AHIP, is assistant professor at the Richard J. Daley Library at the University of Illinois Chicago.
  • Kearin Reid, AHIP, is a medical librarian specialist. 

These RTI faculty and peer coaches will be instrumental in sustaining and enhancing the high-quality RTI learning model that educates health sciences librarians about research methods and empowers them to complete their own projects. We are deeply grateful to them for providing their expertise, time, and enthusiasm to make the RTI a huge success.

We would like to thank Katherine Akers and Shanda Hunt for their tremendous contributions as faculty to the RTI's success over the years. We would also like to thank the current RTI ’23 peer coaches (Andy Hickner, Christi Piper, Erin E. Reardon, Valerie Vera, and Gwen Wilson) who are serving through May 2024 and have been an indispensable part of the RTI learning experience. 

Learn more about the 2024 RTI faculty and peer coaches as well as the RTI program. Consider joining a welcoming and supportive network of research colleagues!

If no content displays, it may be because the access to this article is member-only. Please login below, and then use the back page control to get back from the home page to the page displaying the article.