Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn


For the most complete display of articles, please login.

Editor - Christine Willis, AHIP
Copy & Production Editor - Charlene M. Dundek
Full Editorial team - Access here
MLAConnect is updated continually. Most articles are restricted to MLA members and/or to members of specific MLA sections. For the most complete display of articles, please login.
Submit to MLAConnect.
Refer to the MLA Style Manual when writing articles.
Products, services, and events published in MLAConnect do not constitute MLA’s endorsement or approval. Opinions expressed in MLAConnect are the authors’ and do not necessarily express those of the association.

MLAConnect < Article detail

Carla J. Funk Health Sciences Fellowship Established

Former MLA Executive Director Carla J. Funk (1992-2015) has demonstrated her life-long commitment to sustaining and enhancing the health information librarian talent pipeline through a generous donation to establish the Carla J. Funk Health Sciences Fellowship at Indiana University Bloomington. The Fellowship debuted spring semester 2022 and the inaugural recipient, Heidi Yarger, has created a project focusing on health literacy. 

Carla, who is an alumna of the School of Library and Information Science at Indiana University Bloomington, hopes “that the fellows will make a lasting contribution to the field through their service, research, and innovations.”

The fellowship is open to upper-level undergraduates and graduate students studying at the Luddy School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering with a focus on health-related fields. The paid, one-semester fellowship fosters collaboration and support between the Bloomington Regional Academic Health Center (RHAC) at the hospital and the schools supporting it. The goal is to facilitate the accurate sharing of information via the lens of an academic library.

Learn more at these pages which describe the Fellowship and its impact on the profession and the first inaugural Fellowship recipient.


Photo courtesy of Carla J. Funk, 2022.

If no content displays, it may be because the access to this article is member-only. Please login below, and then use the back page control to get back from the home page to the page displaying the article.