Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn

Dorsch, Jo

MLA Elected Offices and Committee Chair Appointments

  • National Program Committee, chair, 2011–2014
  • Nominating Committee, member, 2012, 2005
  • MLA Board of Directors, nominee, 2008
  • Section Council, vice chair, 2011–2012
  • Journal of the Medical Library Association (JMLA) associate editor, 2008–present
  • JMLA Editor Search Committee, member, 2008, 2004
  • JMLA Survey Task Force, member, 2009
  • Section Council representative, 2001–2008
  • Section Council SIG Committee, chair, 2006 –2008
  • Center for Research and Education (CORE) Task Force, member, 2002–2005
  • Academy of Health Information Professionals Mentor, 2003–
  • Credentialing Committee, member, 2001–2004; chair, 2003–2004
  • Lucretia W. McClure Excellence in Education Award Jury, member, 2000–2001
  • Continuing Education Committee, member, 1996–2000, chair, 1999–2000
  • Subcommittee on Instructor Approval Evaluation, and Support, member, 1993–1996, chair, 1996–1997
  • MLA/Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries (AAHSL) JAMA Journal Review Panel, member,1994–2005
  • Leadership and Management Section (LMS), chair-elect, 2010; chair, 2011, past-chair, 2012
  • LMS Professional Development for Current and Aspiring Middle Managers Task Force, cochair, 2006–2007
  • Research Section, secretary/treasurer, 2001–2003
  • Midwest Chapter, Annual Meeting Continuing Education, chair, 2011–2013
  • Annual Meeting Program Planning Committee, member, 2002–2004; Nominations and Elections Committee, chair, 1996; Annual Meeting Evaluation Committee, member,1994; Executive Board, representative-at-large, 1993–1994


Honors and Awards

  • Fellowship, 2013
  • Lucretia W. McClure Excellence in Education Award, 2005
  • Research Section Honorable Mention, 2001
  • Frank Bradway Rogers Information Advancement Award, 1998 [Joint Award for Health Web with Julia Kelly, Elaine Russo Martin, Ellen Nagle, Patricia Redman, and James Shedlock]
  • Academy of Health Information Professionals, Distinguished Member, 1995–
Other Awards
  • Health Science Librarians of Illinois President’s Award, 2011.
  • Woods Hole Medical Informatics Scholarship, 2006
  • Alliance Library System, Technology Award, 2005
  • National Library of Medicine (NLM)/AAHSL Leadership Fellowship, 2003–2004
  • American Library Association (ALA) Library Instruction Round Table, “Top Twenty,” 1990
Other Accomplishments and Activities
  • Notable achievements in rural outreach and in teaching critical appraisal of the literature and evidence based medicine.
  • NLM, Health Disparities Reactor Panel, member, 2004
  • NLM, Advisory Panel on Planning and Evaluating Outreach Projects, member, 1997–1999
  • AAHSL Teaching and Learning Committee, member, 2010–present; Leadership Committee, member, 2007–2010
  • Alliance Library System, Advisory Council, member, 2007–2010


Publications (5 representative)



  • Regional Head Librarian and Professor, Library of the Health Sciences-Peoria, University of Illinois–Chicago, 2005–
  • Health Sciences Librarian and Associate Professor, Library of the Health Sciences-Peoria, University of Illinois–Chicago, 2000–2005
  • Assistant Health Sciences Librarian and Assistant Professor, Library of the Health Sciences-Peoria, University of Illinois–Chicago, 1992–2000
  • Director/Consultant, Hopedale Medical Complex, Hopedale, IL, 1984–1990
  • Reference Librarian, Illinois Valley Library System, 1980–1982
  • Adult Services Librarian, Riverside Public Library, Riverside, IL, 1978–1979


MLA published statements about the fellow



  • MALS, library science, Dominican University, River Forest, IL, 1978
  • BA, English, University of Illinois–Urbana-Champaign, 1972
Recent Stories
Naegele, Ray (Honorary Member)

Girouard, Linné

Eldredge, Jonathan (PhD)