You are here

Awards and Honors

MLA honors individuals who have rendered distinguished service to health sciences libraries and furthered the purposes of health sciences librarianship. Nominations are invited for some awards; for others, qualified individuals may submit papers. Although all awards are considered annually, they are given only when nominees and candidates clearly meet or exceed requirements.

Make a gift to MLA awards funds through the MLA store. 

MLA's Awards Committee administers the association's general awards. MLA invites award nominations and submissions. The deadline for nominations and submissions is November 1. Email submission is preferred.

Email Fax Mail 312/419-8950 Medical Library Association
ATTN: Awards and Honors
65 East Wacker Place, Suite 1900
Chicago, IL 60601-7246

View Summary information and Honor Previous Recipients

Start Here: Download and
Submit Applications/Nominations

Virginia L. and William K. Beatty Volunteer Service Award Nomination Details
Estelle Brodman Award for the Academic Medical Librarian of the Year Nomination Details
Lois Ann Colaianni Award for Excellence and Achievement in Hospital Librarianship Nomination Details
Louise Darling Medal for Distinguished Achievement in
Collection Development in the Health Sciences
Nomination Details
Janet Doe Lectureship Nomination Details
Ida and George Eliot Prize Nomination Details
Fellows and Honorary Members Fellow Nomination Details
Honorary Member Nomination Details
Carla J. Funk Governmental Relations Award Nomination Details
Murray Gottlieb Prize Submission Details
T. Mark Hodges International Service Award Nomination Details
Joseph Leiter NLM/MLA Lectureship  
Majors/MLA Chapter Project of the Year Submission Details
Lucretia W. McClure Excellence in Education Award Nomination Details
John P. McGovern Award Lectureship  
Marcia C. Noyes Award Nomination Details
Michael E. DeBakey Library Services Outreach Award
Friends of the National Library of Medicine
Nomination Form
MLA Award for Distinguished Public Service  
MLA Rising Star Program Rising Star Application Details
Rising Star Host/Mentor Application Details
President's Award  
Rittenhouse Award Submission Details
Section Project of the Year Award Nomination Details
Thomson Reuters/Frank Bradway Rogers Information Advancement Award Nomination Details

MLA Awards Brochure: Brief descriptions of all MLA awards, honors, grants, scholarships, and fellowships.

Please contact us (312.419.9094, x15) for more information on the procedures for awards and honors.

MLA sections and chapters also honor individuals who contribute to the profession.