Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn


Ysabel Bertolucci MLA Annual Meeting Grant

The Ysabel Bertolucci MLA Annual Meeting Grant recognizes Ysabel Bertolucci’s exemplary career as a members of the Medical Library Association (MLA) and her many contributions to its sections, chapters, and board. Endowed in 2014, the Bertolucci Grant recognizes a health sciences librarian who is involved in nursing, allied health, consumer health or international librarianship. The recipient receives a certificate at the Association’s annual meeting and a grant of up to $1,000 to be used for travel and expenses for attending the MLA annual meeting.


  • The applicant must be a member of MLA.
  • Preferred that the applicant's primary focus of work is in one, or more, of the following areas:
    • Consumer and Patient Health Information
    • Global Health
    • Nursing and Allied Health
  • The applicant must be currently employed as a health information professional.
  • Preferred that the applicant has between two and five years of experience as a health sciences professional at the time of the annual meeting.
  • The applicant must complete an application including a 200-word statement answering the question listed below. 

Priority consideration criteria:

  • The applicant is a first-time attendee at the MLA annual meeting.
  • The applicant is presenting (or has submitted) a paper, poster, or lightning talk for MLA’s annual meeting.


  • The grant recipient will be reimbursed up to $1,000 for actual travel and meeting-related expenses.
    • Expense statements with all receipts must be submitted to MLA after the annual meeting.
  • If no candidate is determined eligible, no grant will be given.
  • Letters of reference are NOT requested or desired.

Submission Checklist

  • Completed online application
  • A 200-word statement answering the following questions:
    • What do you expect to gain professionally and/or personally by attending the MLA annual meeting?
  • Updated MLA member profile

Ready to Submit an Application?

Grant Recipients

  • 2019: Melanie Allen, AHIP
  • 2018: Alexandria Quesenberry
  • 2017: Robin O'Hanlon
  • 2016: Jennifer Leigh Kaari
  • 2015: Karin Saric

Have a question? Contact MLA's grants manager.