Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn


Marcia C. Noyes Award

The Marcia C. Noyes Award, the association’s highest professional distinction, was established in 1947 in memory of Marcia C. Noyes (1869–1946), one of eight Medical Library Association (MLA) charter members, who made numerous contributions to the advancement of the profession. The award recognizes a career that has resulted in lasting, outstanding contributions to medical librarianship. The award considers sustained and notable achievement in at least one area of activity cited in the mission of MLA and distinguished service and leadership in health sciences librarianship. 


  • The nominee must be a member of MLA.
  • The nominee must have demonstrated sustained and notable achievement in at least one area of activity cited in MLA's objectives:
    • fostering the art and science of health sciences library service;
    • supporting health sciences research, education, and patient care; or
    • promoting cooperation and communication among members.
  • The nominee must have demonstrated distinguished service and leadership in health sciences librarianship in at least the areas of mentoring, publishing, and service in professional associations.

The Awards Committee will assess nominations and award points based on the following:  

  • utility - serving the needs of the profession, with usefulness and relevance in practice
  • durability of influence on the field of health sciences librarianship
  • comprehensiveness of achievements as a whole
  • propriety  - in keeping with the ethical code of the profession and association


  • The online nomination must be completed and all supporting files uploaded no later than October 15.
  • The nomination must contain at least the following elements:
    • a precise description of the nominee’s achievements;
    • a current curriculum vitae;
    • any further information that may assist the Awards Committee in the evaluation of the nomination and the selection of the recipient.
  • Up to three letters of support may be included with the nomination.


  • The award recipient will be notified in March and will receive an engraved sterling silver bowl at the MLA annual conference.
  • The recipient will be asked to share a photo and video for the virtual awards ceremony held in April. 
  • If there are no appropriate candidates, the association may elect not to present the award in a given year.

Ready to Submit a Nomination?

  • The award application process is now closed.
  • Applicants and award recipients will be notified in March 2024 with the results.
  • The virtual awards ceremony will be held in April 2024.
  • Nominations for the 2025 award will open in August 2024.

Award Recipients

See links to oral histories below. Also, see MLA Fellows page for additional information on these award recipients.

Have a question? Contact MLA