Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn


Collection Development Caucus

Members: 251     Discussions: 1000     Files: 14

The Collection Development Caucus is a dynamic, supportive, informative, and exciting resource for those interested in collection development for today’s technology-driven, budget- conscious environments.

This caucus provides a forum for communication and cooperation among health sciences librarians charged with responsibility for selection, retention, and deselection of library materials; promotes the education of health sciences librarians in general and those responsible for collection development in particular in matters relating to the philosophy, design, conduct, and evaluation of collection development programs; and provides a resource group among the MLA membership that will be available to coordinate, propose, support, or study, alone or in conjunction with other related bodies, issues relevant to the development of library collections and practices in health sciences institutions.

Member Benefits

  • CDC forum
  • membership directory
  • newsletter (Developments)
  • collection development tools
  • specialized website

Public Resources

Download Collection Development Best Practices, developed by members of the caucus, for an overview on developing and managing collections in the health sciences. This resource was created to assist new collection development librarians and librarians whose primary responsibilities are not in collection development.

CDC Leaders

Erin Wentz
MCPHS University
Chair; Community Council Alternate
Sarah McClung
University of California, San Francisco
Michael A. Wood
Weill Cornell Medicine
Immediate Past Chair; Community Council Representative
Karen Gau
Virginia Commonwealth University
Community Manager/Webmaster
Sonia Manalo Pascua
Drexel University
Communications Chair/Secretary
Kristina DeShazo
Oregon Health & Science University
Developments Coeditor
J. Michael Lindsay, AHIP
University of Tennessee
Developments Coeditor; Delegate, Professionalism & Leadership Domain Hub
Robyn Gleasner
Delegate, Information Services Domain Hub
Megan Besaw Inman
East Carolina University
Delegate, Information Management Domain Hub
Alessia Zanin-Yost, AHIP
Slippery Rock University
Delegate, Education Domain Hub