Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn


Naomi C. Broering Latinx Heritage Grant

The Naomi C. Broering Latinx Heritage Grant was endowed by MLA Past-President Naomi C. Broering, AHIP, FMLA, on the occasion of her more than 40 plus years as a member of the Medical Library Association (MLA) in 2015. The Broering Latinx Heritage Grant will award $1,000 annually to a person of Latinx ethnicity, or a person who has an interest in Latinx community information services. Librarians who want to pursue a professional activity in the latest medical information services using the latest technical formats are encouraged to apply. The intent is to encourage health information professionals to gain knowledge about these important areas of practice and support MLA’s emphasis on evolving roles for the profession.


The Broering Jury will assess the application and score points based on significant contributions, description of the activity, statement of interest  and budget/financial support. 

  • The applicant must:
    • have the potential to make or has made significant contributions to medical information services using the latest technologies.
    • be a member of MLA.
    • be a citizen of or have permanent residence in either the United States or Canada.
  • The applicant may be:
    • a recent graduate or a librarian with significant experience in health sciences libraries.
    • a member of the Latinx under-represented group or have an interest in providing Latinx community information services.
  • The applicant must include:
    • a detailed specific description of the professional development and/or research activity for which support is requested.
    • a statement of interest/previous activity in the area of medical informatics or data management.
    • a detailed itemization of the financial support requested. 
    • current curriculum vitae or resume. 


  • The grant may be used for professional development and/or research activities in the areas of medical information services.  
  • All proposed expenses must clearly align with the intention of the grant and will be evaluated for relevance.
  • Funding may be used for reasonable and actual expenses that meet MLA guidelines:
    • Direct costs related to profession development or conference attendance (e.g., registration fees, books)
    • Direct costs related to the project, where applicable (e.g., scans of library resources or interlibrary loans, teleconferencing fees, virtual polling software)
    • Physical travel within North America, or international travel when specifically allowed (e.g., mileage, travel fares, lodging)
    • Costs to enable the awardee to travel (may allow for compensation for reasonable expenses, e.g., family caregiving)
  • The funds may not be used for institutional overhead, other indirect costs, or income tax payments.
  • The online application must be completed and any supporting documents uploaded no later than November 15.
  • Depending on the qualifications/requests of the candidates, the jury may recommend that the grant not be awarded in a given year.
  • MLA will acknowledge applications upon receipt via email.


  • The recipient and nonrecipients will be notified in March before the public announcement is made.
  • The grant recipient will receive grant funds in June, after receipts and required documents are submitted to MLA. 
  • The amount requested and actual grant awarded may not necessarily be the same amount.
  • The period of disbursement of grant funds will not exceed one year past the date of the MLA annual conference. 
  • The recipient will be asked to share a photo and video for the virtual awards ceremony held in April. 
  • If there are no appropriate candidates, the association may elect not to present the grant in a given year.

Ready to Submit an Application?

  • The grant application process is closed.
  • The recipient will be announced in March 2024.
  • Applications will open next in August 2024.

Grant Recipients

  • 2024: Elisa Cortez, AHIP
  • 2023: Carla Clark, AHIP
  • 2022: none awarded
  • 2021: Hanni Nabahe
  • 2020: Nora Franco
  • 2019: Ana M. Macias, AHIP
  • 2018: Dede Rios, AHIP
  • 2017: Adela V. Justice, AHIP
  • 2016: none awarded
  • 2015: Naomi C. Broering, AHIP, FMLA

Have a question? Contact MLA.