Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn


Hospital Libraries Section/MLA Professional Development Grants

This grant was established in 1996 and is sponsored by the Hospital Libraries Section (HLS). It provides librarians working in hospital and similar clinical settings with the support needed for educational or research activities, which includes developing and acquiring the knowledge and skills delineated in Competencies for Lifelong Learning and Professional Success: The Educational Policy Statement of the Medical Library Association and The Research Imperative: The Research Policy Statement of the Medical Library AssociationThis grant may be used for MLA professional development opportunities offered through through MEDLIB-ED, and Annual Meeting CE courses.  The HLS/MLA Professional Development Grant may also be used to support reimbursement for expenses incurred in conducting scientific research, such as professional assistance in survey research design, statistical analyses, and so on. Up to two awards may be granted each year.


  • The applicant must have been employed as a health sciences librarian within the last year in either a hospital or other clinical care institution.
  • The applicant must not have previously received an HLS/MLA Professional Development Grant.
  • The applicant must not have received an MLA grant, scholarship, or other award within the last year.
  • The applicant must be a member of MLA.
  • It is preferred that applicants be a member of the Hospital Libraries Section/MLA.  Proof of HLS membership history may be confirmed by contacting MLA Member Services.


  • Applications must be received at MLA headquarters nor later then December 1.
  • An applicant can receive only one award per year.
  • An award will be made to no more than one employee per institution per year.
  • Awards will not be given to support work toward a degree or certificate program.
  • The amount of the award will not exceed the actual expenses associated with attending the meeting, program, or course, for which the grant is requested, including tuition, travel or materials, or the specific research support activity, and in any case will not exceed $800.
  • The period of disbursement will not exceed one year past the MLA annual meeting.
  • The number of awards granted will be up to two per year. If no applicants meet the minimum general criteria, an award will not be given.
  • Expense statements and receipts must be presented to designated MLA headquarters staff. Monetary awards will be distributed as reimbursement for actual expenses incurred, within the limits described above.
  • Applicant must identify a specific education program, describe its scope, duration, level of study and budget. In the case of support for scientific research, the applicant must describe the research project including title, goals, objectives, methodology, budget, the project’s contribution to the field of library and information practice, and identification of a research mentor. The statement must also show how the educational program or research project will aid in achieving objectives set forth in the educational policy and research policy statements referenced above.
  • Applicant must indicate how skills obtained may result in a specific outcome (e.g., planned research study, publication, change in library operations, etc.)
  • Upload a current photo to member profile for promotional purposes (optional).

Ready to Submit an Application?

  • The application process is CLOSED. 
  • Online applications will open next in August 2019.

Grant Recipients

  • 2019: Barbara (Basia) Delawska-Elliott, AHIP and Tanisha N. Mills, AHIP
  • 2018: Carrie D. Adams and Celine Soudant
  • 2017: Sue Espe, AHIP
  • 2016: Lee Luniewski and Karen Dianne Stafford
  • 2015: Amanda Gautreaux, AHIP
  • 2014: Emily J. Glenn, AHIP, and Candy Winteregg
  • 2013: Meredith Ilyse Solomon and Leah C. Osterhaus Trzasko
  • 2012: Elizabeth Jayne Kiscaden
  • 2011: none awarded
  • 2010: none awarded
  • 2009: Lois Culler and Lisa A. Marks
  • 2008: Amy Frey and Michelle Goodwin
  • 2007: Hella Bluhm-Steiber and Brenda Wong
  • 2006: Rita Haydar and Joan Wilson
  • 2005: Marcy Brown and Sharon Kambeitz
  • 2004: Pamela Barnard and Lisa Blackwell
  • 2003: Wendy Larson
  • 2002: none awarded
  • 2001: Misa F. Mi and Tamara Rader
  • 2000: Laura Gerwitz and Celia Munoz Smith
  • 1999: Metro Detroit MLG-Research Committee
  • 1998: Carol Shisler

Have a question? Contact MLA's grants coordinator.