Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn

2020 Awards and Recognitions

Members will be able to celebrate and honor their colleagues for their distinguished service to MLA and to health sciences librarianship.

  • General recognition of volunteers
  • New Academy of Health Information Professionals members
  • Distinguished Members of the Association
    • New MLA Fellows
      • Teresa L. Knott, AHIP, FMLA
      • Michelle Kraft, AHIP, FMLA
    • Marcia C. Noyes Award
      • Gerald J. Perry, AHIP, FMLA
    • President’s Award
      • Susan Lessick, AHIP, FMLA
      • Gerald J. Perry, AHIP, FMLA
      • Communities Transition
        • Futures Task Force, 2013-2014: Nancy J. Allee, AHIP; Jane Blumenthal, AHIP, FMLA; Lori A. Bradshaw; Margaret H. Coletti; Tara Douglas-Williams, AHIP; Lisa Federer, AHIP; Heather N. Holmes, AHIP; Dixie A. Jones, AHIP; Steven L. MacCall; Meaghan Muir; Cristina Pope, AHIP; Anne K. Seymour; Chris Shaffer, AHIP; Howard Silver; Meredith I. Solomon; J. Tooey, AHIP, FMLA; Linda Walton, AHIP; Elizabeth C. Whipple, AHIP
        • Strategic Priorities Task Force, 2015–2016: Ellen M. Aaronson, AHIP, Mark E. Funk, AHIP, FMLA, Sally Gore, Teresa L. Knott, AHIP, Alisha H. Miles, Jodi L. Philbrick, AHIP, Katherine R. Stemmer-Frumento, AHIP
        • Rising Stars, 2016–2017: Phill Jo, AHIP; Rachel Charlotte Lerner, AHIP; Tony Nguyen, AHIP; Gregg A. Stevens, AHIP
        • Rising Star Mentors, 2016–2017: Linné Girouard, AHIP; Karen L. Liljequist, AHIP; Michael R. Kronenfeld, AHIP, FMLA; April Joy Schweikhard, AHIP
        • Communities Strategic Goal Task Force, 2016–2019: Ellen M. Aaronson, AHIP; Barbara A. Epstein, AHIP, FMLA; Teresa L. Knott, AHIP; Janna C. Lawrence, AHIP; Elizabeth R. Lorbeer, AHIP; Rikke Sarah Ogawa, AHIP; Katie Prentice, AHIP; Anne K. Seymour; Elizabeth C. Whipple, AHIP
        • Communities Transition Team, 2019–2020: Keith W. Cogdill, AHIP; Julia Esparza, AHIP; Stephanie Fulton, AHIP; Shannon D. Jones, AHIP; Claire B. Joseph, AHIP; Teresa L. Knott, AHIP; Elizabeth R. Lorbeer, AHIP; Beverly Murphy, AHIP, FMLA; Rikke Sarah Ogawa, AHIP; Katie Prentice, AHIP; Lisa K. Traditi, AHIP; Elizabeth C. Whipple, AHIP
    • Annual meeting travel grants * over 100 members received support for attending the 2020 vConference
      • Ysabel Bertolucci MLA Annual Meeting Grant
      • EBSCO/MLA Annual Meeting Grants
      • 2020 MLA Annual Meeting Travel Grants
    • Professional development grants
      • Naomi C. Broering Latinx Heritage Grant
        • Nora Franco
      • Continuing Education Grant
        • Marilia Y. Antunez, AHIP
      • Hospital Libraries Professional Development Grant
        • Danielle N. Linden, AHIP
        • Louisa Verma, AHIP
      • Medical Informatics Career Development Grant
        • Suzanne Fricke, AHIP
    • Advanced education
      • MLA Doctoral Fellowship
        • Christina Lee Wyles, AHIP
      • MLA Scholarship
        • Samantha Kennefick
      • MLA Scholarship for Underrepresented Students
        • Christiana Julsaint
    • Rising Stars
      • 2020–2021: Alyssa Kathryn Migdalski; Kathleen Elizabeth Phillips; JJ Pionke; Erin M. Smith
      • 2019–2020: Kelsa Bartley; Kathryn Houk, AHIP; Jane Morgan-Daniel, AHIP; Elaina Vitale
    • Written works
      • Ida and George Eliot Prize
        • Exploring PubMed as a Reliable Resource for Scholarly Communications Services
          Peace Ossom Williamson, AHIP, and Christian Minter
      • Rittenhouse Award
        • Data Sharing Barriers during Infectious Disease Outbreaks
          Sarah Clarke, AHIP
    • International awards
      • Cunningham Memorial International Fellowship
        • Anar Kairatovna Dautova
      • T. Mark Hodges International Service Award
        • Laura Shane Godbolt (posthumous)
      • MLA Librarians without Borders®/Elsevier Foundation/Research4Life Grants (Sponsored by the Elsevier Foundation)
        • Training of Trainers Workshop in the Use of HINARI/GOALI and ARDI Research4Life Resources in Zambia
          Francina Ngula Simataa Makondo
        • Continuing Education Course and Training for Nigerian Medical Librarians and Research4Life Workshop
          Biliamin Oladele Popoola
        • Increasing and Promoting the Use of HINARI/Research4Life Resources among Health Care Professionals for Evidence-Based Practice and Systematic Reviews in Tanzania
          Deodatus Sabas
        • Increasing Access and Use of Research4Life HINARI and AGORA Resources by Health and Agriculture Professionals and Students in the Volta Region of Ghana
          Fred Kwaku Hayibor
        • HINARI/Internet Resources Workshop for Librarian and Researchers Improving Access to Research4Life Programmes to Establish Research Culture in Nepal
          Chandra Bhushan Yadav
    • Achievement awards
      • Virginia L. and William K. Beatty Volunteer Service Award
        • Margaret A. Hoogland, AHIP
      • Frank Bradway Rogers Information Advancement Award
        • Gail Kouame
      • Estelle Brodman Award for the Academic Medical Librarian of the Year
        • Joey Nicholson
      • Lois Ann Colaianni Award for Excellence and Achievement in Hospital Librarianship
        • Barbara S. Reich, AHIP
      • Consumer Health Librarian of the Year Award
        • Antonio P. DeRosa, AHIP
      • Louise Darling Medal for Distinguished Achievement in Collection Development in the Health Sciences
        • AVSL Whitelist Working Group and AVSL Whitelist Reviewers**
          Association of Vision Science Librarians (AVSL)–Vision Science Caucus of MLA
      • Lucretia W. McClure Excellence in Education Award
        • Amy Blevins
    • Research
      • Eugene Garfield Research Fellowship
        • Toluwase Victor Asubiaro
      • David A. Kronick Traveling Fellowship
        • Mark MacEachern
      • Donald A. B. Lindberg Research Fellowship
        • Antonio P. DeRosa, AHIP
      • Research Advancement in Health Sciences Librarianship Award
        • Tompkins-McCaw Library for the Health Sciences, Virginia Commonwealth University–Richmond
        • Samuel J. Wood Library, Weill Cornell Medicine, New York, NY
      • MLA Research, Development, and Demonstration Project Grant
        • Robin Champieux
    • Community award
      • MLA Chapter Project of the Year Award
        • New logo pin design contest to grow member engagement and raise funds for student conference scholarships
          Pacific Northwest Chapter of MLA (PNC)
    • Lectures
      • Janet Doe Lecturer for 2020
        • Chris Shaffer, AHIP
      • John P. McGovern Award Lecturer
        • Esther Choo

*2020 conference grants were re-formatted due the COVID pandemic and switch to a virtual conference. Given the hardship nature of the reformatted grants, recipient names are not shared. 

**Aug. 2020: name changed to the "Vetted List of Vision Science Journals"


Experience Timeline

MLA20 Timeline.png

Schedule (subject to change)

MLA20 schedule.png

MLA '20 Posts

Thank You, MLA ’20 Sponsors

MLA ’20 vConference New Member/First-Time Attendees Book Recommendations

Fourth Annual MLA Book Recommendations: MLA ’20 vConference

Attending the MLA ’20 vConference? Watch Paper and Lightning Talks before August 10!