Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn

DeBakey, Lois E (Honorary Member)*

Honors and Awards

  • Honorary member, 1989
  • John P. McGovern Award Lectureship, 1983: Such Labour'd Nothings, in So Strange a Style

Other Awards

  • Michael E. DeBakey, Selma DeBakey, and Lois DeBakey Endowed Scholarship Fund in Medical Humanities, 2009
  • Fellow, American College of Medical Informatics, 1989
  • Harold Swanberg Distinguished Service Award of the American Medical Writer’s Association, 1970
  • Fellow, American Medical Writer’s Association, 1958

Other Accomplishments & Activities

  • Worked to bring literacy to medical writing and encouraged physicians to talk with patients using common English instead of medical jargon
  • Board of Regents of the National Library of Medicine, 1982–1986
  • Editorial Board, Journal of the American Medical Association
  • Advisory panel of the American Heritage Dictionary
  • Chairman, Medical Media Center of Excellence Committee, Friends of the National Library of Medicine

Publications (5 representative)

  • DeBakey, L, DeBakey S. Our silent enemy: ashes in our libraries. Bull Med Libr Assoc. 1989 Jul;77(3):258–68.
  • DeBakey L, DeBakey S. The case report. I. guidelines for preparation. Int J Cardiol. 1983 Oct;4(3):357–64.
  • DeBakey L, DeBakey S. Medical writing. let thy words be few. Int J Cardiol. 1982;2(1):127–32. PubMed PMID: 7129683. 
  • DeBakey, L.  The scientific journal: editorial policies and practices: guidelines for editors, reviewers and authors. St. Louis: C. V. Mosby; 1976.
  • DeBakey L, DeBakey S. Ethics and etiquette in biomedical communication. Perspect Biol Med. 1975 Summer; 18(4):522–40.

Professional Positions

  • Professor of Scientific Communication, Baylor College of Medicine, 1968–

MLA published statements about the fellow


  • PhD, literature and linguistics, Tulane University
  • MA, English, Tulane University
  • BA, math, Sophie Newcomb College (part of Tulane University)


Contributed by Connie Schardt


Recent Stories
Naegele, Ray (Honorary Member)

Girouard, Linné

Eldredge, Jonathan (PhD)