You are here

MLA Research, Development, and Demonstration Project Grant

The purpose of this grant is to provide support for research, development, or demonstration projects that will help to promote excellence in the field of health sciences librarianship and information sciences. Grants range from $100 to $1000. Grants will not be given to support an activity that is operational in nature or has only local usefulness. More than one award may be granted in a year. 


  • The applicant(s) must hold a graduate degree in library science.
  • The applicant(s) must be a practicing health sciences librarian with at least two years of professional experience.
  • The applicant(s) must be an individual member of the Medical Library Association.
  • The applicant(s) must be a citizen of or have permanent residence status in either the United States or Canada.
  • Consideration will be given in exceptional cases to an outstanding candidate(s) not meeting the criteria above.


  • The completed application form must be received at MLA headquarters by December 1.
  • The applicant must submit the names of two references not related to the applicant. The references must be persons who are knowledgeable about the applicant's character, education, and abilities.
  • The scope and nature of the proposed project should give evidence of an established methodology and a viable research design.
  • The application should show how the proposed project would contribute conceptually and practically to the applicant's competence and the well being of the library community.
  • The proposal should contain title, goals, objectives, methodology, significance, and budget of project; vital and special qualifications of the research; knowledge of the state of the art and existing published literature on the proposed research topic; and proposed means of disseminating the results. The following criteria will be used to evaluate the applications:


  • education and training
  • experience
  • research competence
  • adequacy of knowledge of research field
  • research potential
  • previous productivity

     Proposed Projects:   

  • relevancy to the association's purpose
  • originality
  • importance to the profession
  • soundness of experimental design and detail
  • feasibility of scope


  • Grantees are expected to submit two copies of the final report of their research to the Medical Library Association with the understanding that MLA has the “first right of review” for publication. If the report is not accepted by MLA and is subsequently published by another publisher, recognition of association support must be given.
  • More than one grant may be offered in a year. Grants range from $100.00 to $1,000.00 and are paid in a single payment.
  • The period of disbursement will not exceed one year past the date of the MLA annual meeting.
  • Depending on the qualifications of the candidates, the jury may recommend that awards not be presented in a given year.
  • MLA will acknowledge applications upon receipt via email.

Ready to Submit an Application?  Proceed to the application form.  


Previous Grant Recipients

  • 2015: Misa Mi, AHIP
  • 2014: none awarded
  • 2013: Trish Chatterley and Heather Cunningham
  • 2012: none awarded
  • 2011: Kristine M. Alpi
  • 2010: Catherine Mary Boss
    "A research study: Does exemplary library services to patients and their family members, friends, and caregivers influence patient satisfaction scores?"
  • 2009: Naomi Broering
    "The efficacy of digital conversion of audiotape collection to CD format measuring change in use and evaluating user satisfaction"
  • 2008: none awarded
  • 2007: Fern Cheek and Lynda Hartel
    "An investigation of electronic book use in an Academic Medical Center"
    Sally Harvey
    "The publication rate of poster entries and abstracts from MLA annual meetings in peer-reviewed or respective professional and trade journals"
  • 2006: none awarded
  • 2005: Peggy Mullaly-Quijas
  • 2004: Ellen Crumley
  • 2003: none awarded
  • 2002: none awarded
  • 2001: Shelly Paden and Mary C. Congleton
    "A study of the experiences and opinions of Loansome Doc Libraries and end-users in the Midwest United States"
  • 2000: Jolene M. Miller
    "Issues surrounding the administration of a credit course for medical students: Survey of US academic health science librarians"
  • 1999: Catherine Graber
    "Survey of Health Sciences Faculty Use of Library Computer Systems"
  • 1998: Mary M. Howrey
  • 1997: none awarded
  • 1996: Alexandra Dimitroff
    “The Use of Problem Based Learning in a Health Sciences Librarianship Course”
  • 1995: Monica Unger
    “Comparison of Information Retrieval Methods in an Academic Medical Library”
  • 1994: none awarded
  • 1993: Jennifer M. Bayne and Joan L. Leishman
    “A Study to Measure the Impact of a problem-Based Learning Curriculum on the Teaching Hospital Library of the University of Toronto”
  • 1992: none awarded
  • 1991: Joanne G. Marshall, Ph.D.
    Study of the Impact of Information on Clinical Decision Making
    Barbara Carlson and Robert Poyer
    “An Investigation of a Rational Binding Schedule Based on Use and Indexing Patterns”
  • 1990: Paul Wrynn, Van Afes and Diane Schwartz
  • 1989: Karen Hackelman, Virginia A. Lingle, and M. Sandra Wood
  • 1988: none awarded
  • 1987: none awarded
  • 1986: Mark Funk, Carolyn Anne Reid, and Audrey Powderly

Have a question?  Contact MLA's Grants Coordinator