You are here

MLA Scholarship for Minority Students

A scholarship of up to $5,000.00 is awarded annually by the Medical Library Association (MLA) to a student who shows excellence in scholarship and potential for accomplishment in health sciences librarianship. The scholarship is announced at the annual meeting of the association, where the recipient will also receive a one-year student membership in the Medical Library Association and free inclusive student registration at the association’s annual meeting.


  • The applicant must be a member of a minority group, defined as Black or African-American, Hispanic or Latino, Asian, Aboriginal, North American Indian or Alaskan Native, or Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander.
  • The applicant must be entering a Masters program at an ALA-accredited graduate library school or, at the time of the granting of the scholarship (February), have completed no more than one-half of the academic requirements of the graduate program.
  • The applicant must be a citizen of or have permanent residence in either the United States or Canada.
  • Past recipients of the MLA Scholarship or the MLA Scholarship for Minority Students are not eligible to apply.


  • The completed application form and accompanying materials must be received at MLA headquarters by December 1.
  • Scholarship payments will be made in two equal installments, the period of disbursement not to exceed one year past the date of the annual meeting.
  • The recipient will be notified in March before the annual meeting at which the public announcement is made.
  • The recipient assumes all costs of attending the meeting and the ceremony at which the announcement is made. The association will underwrite the registration fees.
  • Depending on the qualifications of the candidates, the jury may recommend that awards not be presented in a given year.
  • MLA will acknowledge applications upon receipt via email.

Submission Checklist

All materials must be received at MLA by December 1. 

  • Completed application;
  • Two letters of reference sent directly to MLA Headquarters from persons who are knowledgeable about the applicant’s character, education, and abilities;
  • Official transcript sent directly to MLA (grants@mla.orgfrom each college or university attended, including community college, undergraduate and graduate colleges attended; and
  • Copy of your library school’s catalog or Web page, which states the number of credits needed for your degree.

Ready to Submit an Application? Proceed to the application form. 


Previous Scholarship Recipients

  • 2015: Tyler Moses
  • 2014: Christina Meejung Czuhajewski
  • 2013: Kimberly Tate
  • 2012: Ligia Patricia Groff
  • 2011: Phill Jo
  • 2010: Maria Tan
  • Michele Mason Coles (Annual Meeting Scholarship)
  • 2009: Vivian Okyere
  • Margarita Shawcross (Annual Meeting Scholarship)
  • 2008: Manju Tanwar
  • Elana Churchill (Annual Meeting Scholarship)
  • 2007: Paula Maez
  • Lisa Chow (Annual Meeting Scholarship)
  • 2006: Monique Escamilla
  • Ivonne Martinez (Annual Meeting Scholarship)
  • 2005: Shamsha Damani
  • 2004: Rebecca Davies-Venn
  • 2003: Martha Preddie
  • 2002: Crystal Smith
  • 2001: Felicia Smith
  • 2000: Cheryl L. Jacocks-Terrell
  • 1999: Tomeka Oubichon
  • 1998: Barbara Ferrer Kenney
  • 1997: Yan Hong Li (Amy)
  • 1996: Jean Chung
  • 1995: Lora Gault
  • 1994: Hua Yi
  • 1993: Velora Avis Jernigan
  • 1992: Jenifer Lyn Grady
  • 1991: Louis Lik-Fu Tong
  • 1990: Judith V. Rogers
  • 1989: none awarded
  • 1988: Jacquelyn Patricia Cenacveiira
  • 1987: none awarded
  • 1986: Joy E. Summers
  • 1985: Sheila M. Johnson
  • 1984: Eric Brasley
  • 1983: Kathleen Love
  • 1982: Mamie McCain Doss
  • 1981: Omia G. Smith
  • 1980: Phillip E. Tolbert
  • 1979: none awarded
  • 1978: Eleanor Hill
  • 1977: Barbara Best Nichols
  • 1976: Ernestine Andrews
  • 1973: Carol Jean Yates

Have a question?  Contact MLA's Grants Coordinator