Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn


Collection Development Caucus

Members: 226     Discussions: 813     Files: 12

The Collection Development Caucus is a dynamic, supportive, informative, and exciting resource for those interested in collection development for today’s technology-driven, budget- conscious environments.

This caucus provides a forum for communication and cooperation among health sciences librarians charged with responsibility for selection, retention, and deselection of library materials; promotes the education of health sciences librarians in general and those responsible for collection development in particular in matters relating to the philosophy, design, conduct, and evaluation of collection development programs; and provides a resource group among the MLA membership that will be available to coordinate, propose, support, or study, alone or in conjunction with other related bodies, issues relevant to the development of library collections and practices in health sciences institutions.

Member Benefits

  • CDC forum
  • membership directory
  • newsletter (Developments)
  • collection development tools
  • specialized website

Public Resources

Download Collection Development Best Practices, developed by members of the caucus, for an extensive overview on developing and managing collections in the health sciences.

The Collection Development Caucus sponsors the Daniel T. Richards Prize, presented annually to an individual who has authored a work related to collection development in the health sciences.

CDC Leaders

Iris Kovar-Gough, AHIP
Michigan State University
Chair; Community Council Alternate
Michael A. Wood
Weill Cornell Medicine
Kristina DeShazo
Oregon Health & Science University
Immediate Past-Chair; Community Council Representative (Innovation & Research Hub)
Karen Gau
Virginia Commonwealth University
Mary Shultz
University of Nevada School of Medicine
Delegate, Education Domain Hub
Erin Wentz
MCPHS University
Newsletter Co-editor
Erika Kirsch
United BioSource LLC
Delegate, Information Management Domain Hub
Jaclyn Vialet, AHIP
North Shore University Hospital
Delegate, Information Services Domain Hub