Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn

2018 Awards and Recognitions

New for 2018, MLA awards and recognitions will be presented during plenary sessions on Sunday and Tuesday mornings, when all meeting attendees can honor their colleagues for their distinguished service to MLA and to health sciences librarianship. 

Sunday, May 20

Welcome and Presidential Address, 9:00 a.m.–10:15 a.m.

  • New Academy of Health Information Professionals members: recognized by standing
  • New MLA Fellows: recognized on stage
    • Patricia E. Gallagher, AHIP, FMLA
    • Gerald J. Perry, AHIP, FMLA
    • Elaine R. Martin, FMLA
  • President’s Award: recognized on stage
    • Task Force to Review MLA’s Competencies for Lifelong Learning and Professional Success: Gale G. Hannigan, AHIP; Paula Raimondo, AHIP, FMLA; Christopher Childs; Martha Earl, AHIP; Kate Kelly, AHIP; Elizabeth Laera, AHIP; Susan Lessick, AHIP, FMLA; Terri Ottosen, AHIP; Jodi L. Philbrick, AHIP; and Caitlin Ann Pike, AHIP
  • Marcia C. Noyes Award: recognized on stage
    • Ana D. Cleveland, AHIP, FMLA
  • In Memoriam

John P. McGovern Award Lecture, 10:30 a.m.–11:55 a.m.

  • John P. McGovern Award Lecture recipient: recognized on stage
    Sponsored by EBSCO Health
    • William Powers

Monday, May 21

Janet Doe Lecture, 9:00 a.m.–10:00 a.m.

  • Janet Doe Lecture recipient: recognized on stage
    • Elaine R. Martin, FMLA

Tuesday, May 22

Business Meeting and Inaugural Address, 9:00 a.m.–10:15 a.m.

  • General recognitions of volunteers: recognized by standing
  • Annual meeting grants: recognized by standing
    • Ysabel Bertolucci MLA Annual Meeting Grant: Alexandria C. Quesenberry
    • EBSCO/MLA Annual Meeting Grants: Sarah Clarke, AHIP; Kelsey Leonard Grabeel, AHIP; Alice Jean Jaggers; and Jessica A. Koos, AHIP
      Sponsored by EBSCO Information Services
  • Professional development grants: recognized by standing
    • Naomi C. Broering Hispanic Heritage Grant: Dede Rios, AHIP
    • Continuing Education Grant: Natalie Clairoux
    • Hospital Libraries Section/MLA Professional Development Grant: Carrie D. Adams and Celine Soudant
    • Medical Informatics Section/MLA Career Development Grant: Carl Leak
  • Scholarships: recognized by standing
    • MLA Scholarship: Justin Fuhr
    • MLA Scholarship for Minority Students: Donna Baluchi
  • Rising Stars: recognized on stage
    • 2017/2018: Laura Menard; Hanna Lee Schmillen; Rachel Keiko Stark, AHIP; and Nicole Theis-Mahon
  • Written works: recognized on stage
    • Ida and George Eliot Prize: Whitney A. Townsend; Patricia F. Anderson; Emily C. Ginier; Mark P. MacEachern; Kate M. Saylor; Barbara Lowther Shipman; and Judith E. Smith
    • Erich Meyerhoff Prize: Vicki F. Croft, AHIP, FMLA, and Susanne K. Whitaker, AHIP
    • Rittenhouse Award: Kelsa Bartley
  • International awards: recognized on stage
    • Cunningham Memorial International Fellowship: 2018 Biliamin Oladele Popoola and 2017 Tam Ha
    • Librarians without Borders®/Elsevier Foundation/Research4Life Grants: Emily J. Glenn; Xan Goodman, AHIP, and Jill Barr-Walker; Phuntsho Norbu, and Mboni Amiri Ruzegea
      Sponsored by the Elsevier Foundation
    • Librarians without Borders® Ursula Poland International Scholarship: Kristine M. Alpi, AHIP
  • Achievement awards: recognized on stage
    • Virginia L. and William K. Beatty Volunteer Service Award: Molly Knapp, AHIP
    • Estelle Brodman Award for the Academic Medical Librarian of the Year: Holly K. Grossetta Nardini
    • Clarivate Analytics/Frank Bradway Rogers Information Advancement Award: Michael R. Kronenfeld, AHIP, FMLA
    • Lois Ann Colaianni Award for Excellence and Achievement in Hospital Librarianship: Edward J. Poletti, AHIP
    • Consumer Health Librarian of the Year Award: Erica Lake, AHIP
    • Carla J. Funk Governmental Relations Award: Julie A. Schneider
    • Lucretia W. McClure Excellence in Education Award: Mary E. Edwards
  • Research: recognized on stage
    • Clarivate Analytics/MLA Doctoral Fellowship: Megan Threats
    • Research Advancement in Health Sciences Librarianship Awards: University of Illinois–Chicago and University of Saskatchewan–Saskatoon, Canada
    • David A. Kronick Traveling Fellowship: Erica Lake, AHIP
    • Donald A. B. Lindberg Research Fellowship: Sue Yeon Syn and JungWon Yoon
    • MLA Research, Development, and Demonstration Project Grants: Emily Brennan; and Nadine Dexter, AHIP; Shalu Gillum, AHIP; Deedra Walton, AHIP; Natasha Williams, AHIP; Pamela R. Herring, AHIP; and Terri Gotschall

Silver and Gold Networking Dinner, 6:30 p.m.–10:00 p.m.

Sponsored by McGraw-Hill Education

Dinner tickets are included with Package A: Inclusive Registration or available through meeting registration.

  • MLA Section Project of the Year Award; recognized on stage
    • Dental Section
  • Majors/MLA Chapter Project of the Year: recognized on stage
    Sponsored by J.A. Majors
    • Mid-Atlantic Chapter of MLA
  • Community awards, sections, and chapters: recognized by standing


Thank You, MLA ’18 Sponsors

Diversity and Inclusion Fish Bowl, MLA ’18, Special Workshop Summary