Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn

Research and Evidence-Based Practice Curriculum Committee

Established May 2017, effective June 1, 2017.

Committee Charge

The Research and Evidence-Based Practice Curriculum Committee shall, in collaboration with the Education Steering Committee, other Curriculum committees, and the Director of Education:

  1. design and plan curriculum and educational offerings and resources;
  2. provide direction, expertise, and knowledge to creators and instructors of educational offerings with respect to content and instructional design;
  3. review and assess offerings to ensure they are high quality and current, meet learning outcomes, and have a succession plan;

in the area of research and evidence-based practice.

The Research and Evidence-Based Practice Curriculum Committee shall also:

  1. provide an annual or multi-year proposal to be approved by the Education Steering Committee for educational offering development that contributes to the MLA’s overall curriculum plan;
  2. maintain an operations manual that accurately reflects its work.

The Research and Evidence-Based Practice Curriculum Committee consists of 6 to 13 members who are appointed because of their topical, educational, and/or instructional design expertise in the assigned curriculum area:

  • 6 to 12 members at-large who serve for staggered three-year terms, including individuals from MLA Sections and SIGs with a related focus;
  • one chair selected from one of the outgoing members who serves a fourth year; alternatively, one of the members at-large can be the chair.

Transition: individuals joining the Research and Evidence-Based Practice Curriculum Committee with a shortened term because of the staggered configuration (one or two years), shall be eligible for a second consecutive term upon completion of their initial term.

Members Currently Serving

John W. Cyrus
VCU Libraries
Shari Clifton, AHIP
University of Oklahoma HSC
Ann Madhavan
ECRI Institute
Elizabeth Moreton
UNC Chapel Hill
Erin M. Smith
Virginia Tech
Kerry Dhakal
The Ohio State University
Michelle R Lieggi, AHIP
UCSF Medical Center
Keith C Mages, AHIP
Weill Cornell Medicine
Education Steering Committee Liaison
Caitlin Ann Pike, AHIP
Sarah Cantrell, AHIP
Incoming - Member
Andrea C. Kepsel, AHIP
Michigan State University
Incoming - Member
Tara R Malone
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
Incoming - Chair
Caitlin Meyer
Yale University
Incoming - Member
Debra Cavanaugh
Medical Library Association
Barry Grant
Medical Library Association
Staff Liaison, Director of Education

Latest RTI News

View all RTI News

RTI News: Congratulations to the 2020 RTI Fellows!

RTI News: RTI Fellow Awarded Research Grant to Study Information Behaviors of Nursing Students

Research Invitation for Librarians Who Use Reflection at Work

RTI Research Spotlight: Librarian-Led Research Shows the Need for Greater Open Access Outreach to Change Misconceptions of Early Career Researchers

There Is Still Time! Applications due January 17 for the 2020 RTI