Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn

tfzfnvxz.jpg

For the most complete display of articles, please login.

Editor - Christine Willis, AHIP
Managing Editor - Susan Talmage
Full Editorial team - click here
MLAConnect is updated continually. Most articles are restricted to MLA members and/or to members of specific MLA sections. For the most complete display of articles, please login.
Submit to MLAConnect.
Refer to the MLA Style Manual when writing articles.
Products, services, and events published in MLAConnect do not constitute MLA’s endorsement or approval. Opinions expressed in MLAConnect are the authors’ and do not necessarily express those of the association.

August Events
5
October Events
3
October 3, 2020
01:25 PM - 01:25 PM
Bloomington, IN
14
October 14, 2020
01:25 PM - 01:25 PM
18
October 18, 2020
11:15 AM - 11:15 AM
Pittsburgh, PA
Hotel Monaco

22
October 22, 2020
01:30 PM - 01:30 PM
Montgomery, AL
23
October 23, 2020
11:30 AM - 11:30 AM
Houston, TX

28
October 28, 2020
08:45 AM - 08:45 AM
Poughkeepsie, NY

MLAConnect < Article detail

Global Health & Health Equity: PNR NNLM Webinar: “Still Searching for One Health: Information Services that Support Prevention of Emerging Zoonotic Disease”

Submitted by Suzanne Fricke, AHIP, Animal Health Library, Washington State University–Pullman; edited by Lilian Hoffecker

Part of the PNR Rendezvous series of the Pacific Northwest Region (PNR) of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NNLM), the “Still Searching for One Health: Information Services that Support Prevention of Emerging Zoonotic Disease” webinar will be on Wednesday, June 17, 10:00 a.m., Hawaii; noon, Alaska; 1:00 p.m., pacific time; 2:00 p.m., mountain time; 3:00 p.m., central time; 4:00 p.m., eastern time. Register here.

It has long been known that 75% of emerging diseases begin at the human-animal interface. RNA viruses including HIV, severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS), novel influenza strains, and coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) all trace their origins to animal reservoirs and environmental factors.

It has been over half a century since Charles Schwab first coined the term “One Medicine” and over a decade since the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) established a One Health Office. Yet One Health initiatives that seek to prevent and control pathogen spillover at the animal/human/ecosystem interface often struggle for long-term international and cross-sector support. What are some of those initiatives, and what role can information specialists play in developing sustainable One Health cultures and mindsets at local, regional, national, and international levels?

The session will be recorded, but we encourage you to attend the live session where you can bring your questions.

If you have any questions about the webinar, please contact Carolyn Martin, AHIP, NNLM PNR, Health Sciences Library, University of Washington–Seattle.

If no content displays, it may be because the access to this article is member-only. Please login below, and then use the back page control to get back from the home page to the page displaying the article.