Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn


For the most complete display of articles, please login.

Editor - Christine Willis, AHIP
Copy & Production Editor - Charlene M. Dundek
Full Editorial team - Access here
MLAConnect is updated continually. Most articles are restricted to MLA members and/or to members of specific MLA sections. For the most complete display of articles, please login.
Submit to MLAConnect.
Refer to the MLA Style Manual when writing articles.
Products, services, and events published in MLAConnect do not constitute MLA’s endorsement or approval. Opinions expressed in MLAConnect are the authors’ and do not necessarily express those of the association.

No Calendar Items Exist.

MLAConnect < Article detail

DeBakey, Michael E. (MD) (Honorary Member)*

Honors and Awards

  • Honorary Member, 1997
  • Joseph Leiter NLM/MLA Lectureship, 1990
  • Michael E. DeBakey Library Services Outreach Award established, 1993

(established and awarded by Friends of the National Library of Medicine. MLA supports this award.)

Other Awards (Few selected)

  • NLM Michael E. DeBakey Fellowship in the History of Medicine established, 2016
    (established with support from the DeBakey Medical Foundation)
  • Congressional Gold Medal, 2008
  • United Nations Lifetime Achievement Award, 1999
  • National Medal of Science, 1987
  • Presidential Medal of Freedom, 1969
  • Albert Lasker Award for Clinical Research, 1963
  • U.S. Army Legion of Merit Award, 1945


Other Accomplishments & Activities (Few selected)

  • Chairman, Lasker Foundation Medical Research Awards Jury, 1964-94
  • Chairman, President’s Commission on Heart Disease, Cancer, and Stroke, 1964
  • Member, NLM Board of Regents,1957-60,1994-98; Chair, FY1958, FY1998
  • Surgical Consultants Division, Office of the U.S. Army Surgeon General, 1942-46


Publications (5 representative)


Professional Positions (selected)

  • Chancellor Emeritus, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX, 1996-2008
  • Chancellor, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX, 1979-96
  • Director, The DeBakey Heart Center, Houston, TX
  • Director, National Heart and Blood Vessel Research and Demonstration Center, 1976-84
  • Olga Keith Weiss Professor of Surgery, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX, 1981-2008
  • President, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX, 1969-79
  • Distinguished Service Professor, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX, 1968-2008
  • Professor and Chairman, Cora and Webb Mading Department of Surgery, Baylor University College of Medicine, Houston, TX, 1948-69


MLA published statements about the fellow



  • Postgraduate study University of Strasbourg, France and University of Heidelberg, Germany, 1935-37
  • MS, Tulane University School of Medicine, New Orleans, LA, 1935
  • Surgical Residency, Charity Hospital, New Orleans, LA, 1933-35
  • MD, Tulane University School of Medicine, New Orleans, LA, 1932
  • BS, Tulane University, New Orleans, LA, 1930


Contributed by Betsy L. Humphreys, MLS, FMLA


If no content displays, it may be because the access to this article is member-only. Please login below, and then use the back page control to get back from the home page to the page displaying the article.