Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn


For the most complete display of articles, please login.

Editor - Christine Willis, AHIP
Copy & Production Editor - Charlene M. Dundek
Full Editorial team - Access here
MLAConnect is updated continually. Most articles are restricted to MLA members and/or to members of specific MLA sections. For the most complete display of articles, please login.
Submit to MLAConnect.
Refer to the MLA Style Manual when writing articles.
Products, services, and events published in MLAConnect do not constitute MLA’s endorsement or approval. Opinions expressed in MLAConnect are the authors’ and do not necessarily express those of the association.

No Calendar Items Exist.

MLAConnect < Article detail

Call for Nominations: Janet Doe Lectureship

The Janet Doe Lectureship jury is calling on the MLA membership to nominate a colleague worthy of giving this prestigious lecture on the history or philosophy of medical librarianship during the MLA conference in 2025.

Criteria for Eligible Nominees:

  • The nominee must be a member of MLA.
  • The nominee shall have been an active member of the profession for a sufficient number of years to have acquired a broad perspective of medical librarianship and possess the qualities to communicate their experiences and ideas articulately.
  • Nominees should be regular members of the association who have made a substantial contribution to its work through one or more of the following:
    • leadership;
    • contribution to medical librarianship as a profession;
    • development of or sustained work within a particular area within the association;
    • dedicated service to medicine and the allied health sciences;
    • contributions to research or scholarship;
    • effectiveness in administration/management;
    • contributions to technology application and library practice; and/or
    • effectiveness in teaching and training.

The nomination should include a current CV, a brief summary of the nominee’s career addressing contributions to the profession, letters of support, and additional information.

Award recipients are honored via the publication of their lecture in JMLA, an honorarium, expense reimbursement, and more.

Established in 1966, this lectureship honors Janet Doe (1895-1985), former librarian of the NY Academy of Medicine, historical scholar, and a past MLA president. Ms. Doe was also editor of the Medical Library Practice handbook.

The deadline for nominations is October 15. For full details on the award, criteria, submitting a nomination, and to view a list of past recipients and their lecture topics, please see MLANET.


If no content displays, it may be because the access to this article is member-only. Please login below, and then use the back page control to get back from the home page to the page displaying the article.