Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn

Janet Doe Lecturer: Sandra G. Franklin, AHIP, FMLA - #mlanet21

Sandra G. Franklin, AHIP, FMLA
Janet Doe Lecture: Diversity That Defines Us: The View Through A Crystal Lens
Wednesday, May 26, 2021
3:30 PM – 5:00 PM CT

Sandra G. Franklin, AHIP, FMLA, is director of Emory University’s Woodruff Health Sciences Center Library, Atlanta, GA. The library includes four clinical branches. Since joining the Emory Libraries, Franklin has served as reference librarian, head of public services, assistant director, associate director, and director since 2002.

Franklin’s service to MLA began as a member and then chair of the Credentialing Committee. She served MLA as a member of the 2008 Nominating Committee, secretary/treasurer of the Leader-ship and Management Section, member of the Board of Directors, member of the 2015 National Program Committee, chair of the Local Assistance Committee for MLA ’18 in Atlanta, and chair of MLA’s Diversity and Inclusion Task Force. The task force surveyed MLA members to obtain demographic information and inserted inclusive language in association documents.

Franklin was the 2015 Southern Chapter/MLA Academic Librarian of the Year and in 2017 became an MLA Fellow. Her other professional association service includes as president of the Georgia Health Sciences Library Association; treasurer, credentialing liaison, program chair, and president of the Southern Chapter/MLA; president and member of the Board of Directors and committees of the Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries (AAHSL); and chair of the National Library of Medicine (NLM)/AAHSL Future Leadership Committee. Franklin recently became a member of the Friends of the National Library of Medicine Board of Directors.

The Janet Doe Lectureship was established in 1966 by an anonymous donation to support a lecture in honor of Janet Doe (1895–1985), former librarian of the New York Academy of Medicine, historical scholar, past president of MLA, and editor of the first two editions of the Handbook of Medical Library Practice. The lectureship is awarded to individuals for their unique perspectives on the history or philosophy of medical librarianship.


Recent Stories
2021 Research Caucus Research Awards

MLA ’21 Books (& More) Recommended Reading List

Gear Up For Live Action Week