Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn

Global Health & Health Equity: PNR NNLM Webinar: “Still Searching for One Health: Information Services that Support Prevention of Emerging Zoonotic Disease”

Submitted by Suzanne Fricke, AHIP, Animal Health Library, Washington State University–Pullman; edited by Lilian Hoffecker

Part of the PNR Rendezvous series of the Pacific Northwest Region (PNR) of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NNLM), the “Still Searching for One Health: Information Services that Support Prevention of Emerging Zoonotic Disease” webinar will be on Wednesday, June 17, 10:00 a.m., Hawaii; noon, Alaska; 1:00 p.m., pacific time; 2:00 p.m., mountain time; 3:00 p.m., central time; 4:00 p.m., eastern time. Register here.

It has long been known that 75% of emerging diseases begin at the human-animal interface. RNA viruses including HIV, severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS), novel influenza strains, and coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) all trace their origins to animal reservoirs and environmental factors.

It has been over half a century since Charles Schwab first coined the term “One Medicine” and over a decade since the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) established a One Health Office. Yet One Health initiatives that seek to prevent and control pathogen spillover at the animal/human/ecosystem interface often struggle for long-term international and cross-sector support. What are some of those initiatives, and what role can information specialists play in developing sustainable One Health cultures and mindsets at local, regional, national, and international levels?

The session will be recorded, but we encourage you to attend the live session where you can bring your questions.

If you have any questions about the webinar, please contact Carolyn Martin, AHIP, NNLM PNR, Health Sciences Library, University of Washington–Seattle.

Recent Stories
Global Health & Health Equity: European Medical Libraries during the COVID-19 Pandemic

Global Health & Health Equity: Resource Limited but Knowledge Rich: Hinari and Systematic Review Training in Zimbabwe

Global Health & Health Equity: A Call to Action: Read, Reflect, Include, Repeat