You are here

Rittenhouse Award

The Rittenhouse Award is presented annually for the best unpublished paper (bibliographical, issue or topic based, or report of research results), Web-based project, video, or resource on health sciences librarianship or medical informatics submitted by a current student or recent graduate of an ALA-accredited program of library science, or a trainee in an internship program in health sciences librarianship or medical informatics. The Rittenhouse Medical Bookstore in Philadelphia, PA, originally established the award in 1967. Now, Rittenhouse Book Distributors, Inc. continues the tradition. Application, criteria, and submission details

Award Recipients

Established by a gift from Rittenhouse Book Distributors, Inc.

  • 2015: Nicole Dalmer
    "Social Media: Evolving Assessment of Online Health Information Reliability"
  • 2014: Laura L. Pavlech
    Evidence–Based Veterinary Medicine: Current Opinions and Barriers to Practice.”
  • 2013: Yee May Chua
    "Complex System Records Model and Medical Informatics: Recordkeeping for Wicked Problems"
  • 2012: Eva Jurczyk
    "Developing a Custom Health Search Tool to Meet Diverse Health Literacy Needs”
  • 2011: Marie Lebow
    "Looking for Answers: On Screen and Off"
  • 2010: Melody Ramsey
    "NIH Public Access Policy: Implications for Collections Management"
  • 2009
    none awarded
  • 2008: Bob Gerth
    "Varicose Veins Pathfinder"
  • 2007: Susan Miller
    "The Necessity of the Hospital Library to the Institution and Community it Serves"
  • 2006: Dolores Skowronek
    "An Ultrasound Digital Library for Anesthesiologists"
  • 2005: Ann Bett-Madhavan
    "The Information Needs of Medical Journalists: A Role for Information Specialists"
  • 2004: Derek Hansen
    "Adolescent Health Information Seeking on the Web: A Multi-Disciplinary Review"
  • 2003: Tracy Dana
    "The Past, Present and Future of Clinical Librarianship"
  • 2002:
    none awarded
  • 2001: Marlo Maldonado Young
    "Consumer Health Informatics: A Preliminary Exploration of Latino Culture as a Provider of Health Information"
  • 2000:
    none awarded
  • 1999:
    none awarded
  • 1998: Charles G. Warrick
    " The Physical and Developmental Environment of the High-Risk Infant: A Bibliometric Analysis of a Papyrus Database"
  • 1997:
    none awarded
  • 1996: Jennifer K. Lloyd
    "The History of Medical Illustration: From Galen to Netter and Beyond"
  • 1995: Georgia Makowski
    "A Comparison of CD-ROM MEDLINE and CD-ROM Biological Abstracts for Retrival of Therapeutic Drug Information"
  • 1994: Mary Moore
    "The Economics of Healthcare Information"
  • 1993: Marsha Greer
    "An Overview of Library Services to Nurses and Nursing Students"
  • 1989: P. F. Anderson
    "Providing Information for the Clinical Decision Maker: Role of the Health Sciences Information Center"
  • 1988: Catherine Burroughs
    "Clinicians' Satisfaction with GRATEFUL MED: An Exploratory Study"
  • 1987: Kathlyn L. Reed
    "Occupational Therapy Articles in Serial Publications: An Analysis of Sources"
  • 1985: Lynne M. Martin
    "The Use and Evaluation of Book Reviews Published in Five Medical Journals as Acquisition Selection Aids by Academic Medical Acquisition Librarians"
  • 1984: Linda Boettcher
    "Information-Seeking Patterns of Rural Physicians in Minnesota"
  • 1983: Dorothy Manderscheid
    "A Survey of Substantial Overall Compliance with JCAH Standards in Hospital Libraries in Clinton, Eaton, and Ingham Counties in Michigan"
  • 1982: Jane Elissa Loftin
    "Library Orientation and Library Instruction for Medical Students"
  • 1981: Kathleen M. Savoy
    "Incorporating Audiovisuals in Health Sciences Libraries"
  • 1980: Anne R. Sawyer
    "The Role of the Medical Librarian in Patient-Health Education"
  • 1979: Lonnie J. Spotts
    "Independent Study-Guidelines for Conversion of Subject Headings for FDA Medical Library-Methodology Using Drug Class Terms as a Model"
  • 1978: Ronald Rader
    "Bibliographic Analysis of the Literature of Government-Regulated Chemical Carcinogens"
  • 1977: Theresa Strasser
    "The Information Needs of Registered Nurses in Northeastern New York State"
  • 1976: Bonnie J. Fridley
    "The Patient's Need for Medical Information-An Emergent Responsibility"
  • 1975: Faye Zucker
    "English Abstracts and the Language Barrier in Biomedical Research"
  • 1973: Linda Smith
    "The Medical Librarian and Computer-Assisted Instruction"
  • 1972: Vicki Glasgow
    "Contributions of Eileen R. Cunningham to Medical Librarianship"
  • 1971: James R. Reed
    "The Case for Public Health Librarianship"
  • 1969: Mary Jordan Coe
    "Mechanization of Library Procedures in the Medium Sized Library"

Please contact MLA (312.419.9094 x15) for more information on the procedures for awards and honors nominations or applications.