You are here

MLA Awards and Honors

Each year, members of the Medical Library Association honor individual achievements of high order in specific areas of librarianship. Nominations are invited for some awards; for others, qualified individuals may submit papers. Although all awards are considered annually, they are given only when nominees and candidates clearly meet or exceed requirements.

MLA's Awards Committee administers the association's general awards. MLA honors those who have rendered distinguished service to libraries and librarianship and invites nominations and submissions for the following awards:

The deadline for nominations is November 1.

Honoring Our Past: Previous Recipients
The Process Starts Here
Virginia L. and William K. Beatty Volunteer Service Award Nomination Details
Estelle Brodman Award for the Academic Medical Librarian of the Year Nomination Details
Lois Ann Colaianni Award for Excellence and Achievement in Hospital Librarianship Nomination Details
Louise Darling Medal for Distinguished Achievement in Collection Development in the Health Sciences Nomination Details
Janet Doe Lectureship Nomination Details
Ida and George Eliot Prize Nomination Details

Fellows and Honorary Members

Fellow Nomination Details

Honorary Member Nomination Details

Carla J. Funk Governmental Relations Award Nomination Details
Murray Gottlieb Prize Submission Details
T. Mark Hodges International Service Award Nomination Details
Joseph Leiter NLM/MLA Lectureship  
Majors/MLA Chapter Project of the Year Submission Details
Lucretia W. McClure Excellence in Education Award Nomination Details
John P. McGovern Award Lectureship  
Marcia C. Noyes Award Nomination Details

Michael E. DeBakey Library Services Outreach Award
Friends of the National Library of Medicine

Nomination Form

MLA Award for Distinguished Public Service  
MLA Rising Star Program Rising Star Application Details
Rising Star Host/Mentor Application Details
President's Award  
Rittenhouse Award Submission Details
Section Project of the Year Award Nomination Details
Thomson Reuters/Frank Bradway Rogers Information Advancement Award

Nomination Details

Please contact us (312.419.9094 x15) for more information on the procedures for awards and honors.

MLA Awards Brochure: Brief descriptions of all MLA awards, honors, grants, scholarships, and fellowships.

Visit MLA Sections and Chapters for information on additional awards.