You are here

Virginia L. and William K. Beatty MLA Volunteer Service Award

The award was established in 2007 to recognizes a medical librarian who has demonstrated outstanding, sustained service to the Medical Library Association and the health sciences library profession. The nominee must be an "unsung hero" of MLA and have not served in an elected national leadership position or received a national MLA award prior to or at the time of the nomination. The award is named in honor of Virginia L. and William K. Beatty and recognizes their significant contributions to MLA and the profession as longtime volunteers to the association.

Application, criteria, and submission details.

Award Recipients

  • 2015: Dolores Judkins, AHIP
  • 2014: Janna Lawrence, AHIP
  • 2013: none awarded
  • 2012: Janet L. Cowen, AHIP
  • 2011: Kay E. Wellik
  • 2010: Ann C. Weller
  • 2009: none awarded
  • 2008: Logan Ludwig


Please contact MLA (312.419.9094 x15) for more information on the procedures for awards and honors nominations or applications.