You are here

David A. Kronick Traveling Fellowship

David A. Kronick Traveling Fellowship is endowed by the Bowden-Massey Foundation and was established in 2002.  One $2,000 fellowship is awarded each year to cover the expenses involved in traveling to three or more medical libraries in the United States or Canada, for the purpose of studying a specific aspect of health information management. Activities that are operational in nature or have only local usefulness will be considered. The award winner is required to submit a report to MLA on the results of the project, that may be published in appropriate health information journals.


  • The applicant must hold a graduate degree in library science.
  • The applicant must be a practicing health sciences librarian with at least five years of professional experience.
  • The applicant must be an individual member of the Medical Library Association.
  • The applicant must be a citizen of or have permanent residence status in either the United States or Canada.
  • Consideration will be given in exceptional cases to an outstanding candidate not meeting the criteria above.


  • The application should show how the proposed project would contribute conceptually and practically to the applicant's competence and the well being of the library community.
  • The applicant’s proposal should contain title, goals, objectives, methodology, significance, and budget of project; and proposed means of disseminating the results.
  • The following criteria will be used to evaluate the applicant: education and training, experience and previous productivity.
  • The following criteria will be used to evaluate the proposed projects: relevancy to the applicant’s professional development, originality and feasibility of scope.
  • Grantees are expected to submit two copies of the final report of their project within two months of completion of the project to the Medical Library Association, Professional Development Department, with the understanding that MLA has the “first right of review” for publication. If the report is not accepted by MLA and is subsequently published by another publisher, recognition of association support must be given.


  • The completed application form must be received at MLA headquarters by December 1.  
  • The applicant must submit a current CV or resume, including a list of published papers or those submitted for publication.
  • The applicant must submit two references letters from individuals not related to the applicant. The references must be persons who are knowledgeable about the applicant's character, education, and abilities.

Additional Information 

  • Recipients of the fellowship are encouraged to make a donation to the fellowship fund within two years so that others may have a similar opportunity.
  • One grant of $2,000.00 will be offered yearly and paid in a single payment; the period of disbursement will not exceed one year past the date of MLA’s Annual Meeting.
  • Depending on the qualifications of the candidates, the jury may recommend that the award not be presented in a given year.
  • MLA will acknowledge applications upon receipt via email.

Ready to Submit an Application?  Proceed to the application form. 

Previous Fellowship Recipients

  • 2015: Emily Mazure
  • 2014: Julie H. Schiavo, AHIP
  • 2013: Denise Hersey
  • 2012: none awarded
  • 2011: Linda C. Butson
  • 2010: Keith Cogdill
  • 2009: Mary Piorun
  • 2008: Kathryn Kerdolff
  • 2007: Michele Tennant
  • 2006: Robin Devin
  • 2005: Kris Alpi
  • 2004: Ellen Crumley
  • 2003: Michael Kronenfeld
  • 2002: Patricia A. Nelson

Have a question?  Contact MLA's Grants Coordinator