You are here

Cunningham Memorial International Fellowship

The purpose of the Cunningham fellowship is to assist in the education and training of health science librarians from countries outside the United States and Canada. The MLA Cunningham Memorial International Fellowships were established in 1967 with a bequest from the estate of Eileen R. Cunningham.  The first fellowship was awarded in 1972 at the annual meeting in San Diego, CA.  This program continues to train and motivate international librarians with the latest advances in the health information profession.  The fellowship supports attendance at the MLA Annual Meeting and observation and supervised work in one or more medical libraries in the United States and Canada.  The fellowship also permits access to MLA-sponsored online Continuing Education courses for a one year period beginning January of the fellowship year.   


  • The applicant must have both an undergraduate degree and a master's level library degree.  The latter requirement may be waived.  (Transcripts or a copy of your diploma and grades for courses taken at both the undergraduate and graduate levels should be sent at the same time as the application.)
  • The applicant must be working or preparing to work in a health science library in his or her own country.
  • The applicant must be a citizen or permanent resident of a country other than the United States or Canada.
  • Past recipients of the Cunningham fellowship are ineligible.


  • The completed application with documentation must be received at MLA headquarters by December 1. Successful and unsuccessful applicants will be notified by March.
  • Three letters of reference in English are required from responsible persons who are familiar with the applicant's qualifications.  References may include officers of institutions where the applicant has worked, U.S. officers of information, other librarians from the applicant's country, or persons in North America.  These letters of reference should describe the applicant's professional and interpersonal skills.  Letters should include an assessment of the applicant's sense of curiosity, ability to live alone and function in a foreign setting, and adaptability to traveling in unfamiliar places. 
  • The applicant must have a signed statement in English from a responsible official of the institution where he or she is working or plans to work, guaranteeing a position in a health sciences library upon his or her return.
  • A TOEFL score of 500 or greater is required, except for applicants whose native language is English or whose language of instruction at the university level was English.
  • All applicants must submit a single electronic audio or video file, as well as a typed transcript, responding to the questions on the application.
  • The applicant must submit a project overview according to the guidelines in Part VIII, “Project Goals.”
  • The applicant must present a certificate of good physical health, written in English, from a licensed physician.
  • The Cunningham Fellowship fund will pay a stipend toward living, travel, and tuition expenses within the US and Canada.  The amount is determined annually. These funds are for the fellow only.  No support is provided for spouses or dependents.
  • Payment for travel to and from the United States or Canada is the responsibility of the fellow and will not be paid from the fellowship stipend.
  • Depending on the qualifications of the candidates, the jury may recommend that the Cunningham fellowship not be awarded in a given year.
  • MLA will acknowledge applications upon receipt via email.

Submission Checklist

All materials must be received at MLA by December 1. 

  • Completed application;
  • Undergraduate and graduate transcripts in English;
  • Three letters of reference in English;
  • Certificate of health in English;
  • Statement in English indicating that you will be employed in a health sciences library in your country when you return;
  • Brief essay in English (no more than 500 words), describing the goals for the fellowship according to the guidelines in Part 8, "Essay on Fellowship Goals;"
  • If applicable, TOEFL examination results (score of 500 or greater is required) no later than December 1; 
  • A single digital audio or video file, plus a typed transcript, with responses to questions from Part 9 of the application.

Application Submission

  • The completed application, along with supporting documents and an electronic audio or video file.
  • MLA will acknowledge receipt of all applications. All applicants must receive an email notification that materials were received by MLA on or before December 1 for applications to be considered. Incomplete applications will not be considered. 

Ready to Submit an Application

Click here to proceed to the application form.

Previous Fellowship Recipients

  • 2015: Joseph Olubunmi Olorunsaye, Nigeria
  • 2014: none awarded
  • 2013: Cunningham Grants Recipients for 2013 only: Michael Chimalizeni, South Africa; Silvia Ciubrei, Republic of Moldova; Valerie Clarke, Barbados; Elaine Garrett, United Kingdom; Gussun Gunes, Turkey; Nguyen Hai Ha, Vietnam; Shona Kirtley, United Kingdom; Carol Lefebvre, United Kingdom; Richard Ssenono, Uganda; and Mary Louise Thompson, St. Vincent and The Grenadines
  • 2012: Midrar Ullah, Pakistan
  • 2011: Satish Munnolli, India
  • 2010: Petros Demilew Miskir, Ethiopia; and Marie-Therese Mitri, Lebanon
  • 2009: Hasbullah Atan, Malaysia; and Stanslaus Ngadaya, Tanzania
  • 2008: Lisa Kruesi, Australia; and Vijay Padwal, India
  • 2007: Alison Kinengyere, Uganda; and Jin Cheng, Peoples Republic of China
  • 2006: Hanne Caspersen, Denmark
  • 2005: Raphael Euppah, Kenya
  • 2004: Grace Ajuwon, Nigeria
  • 2003: Saroj Bhatia, Australia
  • 2002: Yuan Lin, China
  • 2001: Kgaladi Kekana, South Africa
  • 2000: Elena Leonova, Moscow
  • 1999: Timothy Shola Abolarinwa, Nigeria
  • 1998: Anita Verhoeven, M.D., The Netherlands
  • 1997: Ioana Robu, Romania
  • 1996: Weraduwage Ravindranath Gamini de Silva, Sri Lanka
  • 1995: Elena Ivanova Korotkova Librarian, Moscow
  • 1994: Gu Xiaohong, China
  • 1993: none awarded
  • 1992: Ruihong Zhang Librarian, China
  • 1991: Sally Anne Montserin, Trinidad and Tobago
  • 1990: Olufunmilayo Olufunke Akhigbe, Nigeria
  • 1989: none awarded
  • 1988: Sitsofe Afua Dzansi, Ghana
  • 1987: Frances L. Bluhdorn, Australia
  • 1986: Chandraiya Librarian, Fiji
  • 1985: Lise Noregaard Christensen Librarian, Denmark
  • 1984: Mahesh P.S., India
  • 1983: none awarded
  • 1982: Teresita Chavez Moran, Philippines
  • 1981: Erna G. Klopper, Republic of South Africa
  • 1980: Margaret Okeke, Nigeria; and K.S. Yeung, Hong Kong
  • 1979: Catherine Pi-Ying Yang, Taiwan; and Sile M. Nevin, Ireland;
  • 1978: Susan Anne Flegg, Rhodesia; and Maria Dulcineia Nunes, Portugal
  • 1977: Wilawan Vongsuphar, Thailand; and Miskiah Ahmad, Malaysia
  • 1976: Godfrey Belleh, Nigeria; and Bror L. Erikson, Sweden
  • 1975: Lucita B. Dones, Philippines
  • 1974: Jean Adams, Scotland
  • 1973: A.M. Pathan Librarian, India; and Shinako Honda, Japan

Have a question?  Contact MLA's Grants Coordinator