Contact Us | Donate | Advertise Follow us on TwitterFollow us on facebookFollow us on LinkedIn


Medical Informatics Section/MLA Career Development Grant

In 1997, the Medical Informatics Section of the Medical Library Association (MLA) established the Medical Informatics Section/MLA Career Development Grant. The section awards one individual up to $1,500 to support a career development activity that will contribute to the advancement of the field of medical informatics.  This grant may be used for MLA professional development opportunities offered through through MEDLIB-ED, and Annual Meeting CE courses that meet the grant criteria. 


  • The applicant must be a member of MLA.
  • The applicant must have a master's of library science or equivalent degree.
  • The applicant must have the potential to make significant contributions to medical informatics.
  • The applicant may be either a recent graduate or a librarian with significant experience in health sciences libraries.
  • It is preferred that the applicant be a member of the Medical Informatics Section of MLA.


  • A completed application form must be received by December 1.
  • The applicant must submit a detailed specific description of the career development activity for which support is requested.
  • The applicant must submit a statement of interest/previous activity in the area of medical informatics.
  • The applicant must submit a current curriculum vitae.
  • The applicant must submit detailed itemization of financial support requested. Depending on the qualifications/requests of the candidates, the jury may recommend that the grants not be awarded in a given year.
  • The period of disbursement will not exceed one year past the date of the MLA annual meeting.
  • MLA will acknowledge applications upon receipt via email.

Ready to Submit an Application

The MIS Career Development Grant application process is CLOSED.  Applications for the 2018 grant will be accepted starting in August 2017.

Grant Recipients

  • 2017: Helene Richards McMurray
  • 2016: Carrie L. Iwema, AHIP
  • 2015: Jennifer Dinalo
  • 2014: Marci Brandenburg
  • 2013: Joanne M. Muellenbach, AHIP
  • 2012: none awarded
  • 2011: Melissa Resnick
  • 2010: none awarded
  • 2009: Kristine M. Alpi
  • 2008: Karen Albert and Maureen Knapp
  • 2007: none awarded
  • 2006: Ellen Justice
  • 2005: Ruling Guo and Christine Marton
  • 2004: Margaret Gorman and Sara Anne Hook
  • 2003: Marcy Brown and Mark Vrabel
  • 2002: Mary Linn Bergstrom and Marilyn Teolis
  • 2001: Susan London
  • 2000: Kathleen F. Bauer and Kathryn E. Kerdolff
  • 1999: Ruth Riley and Gang (Wendy) Wu
  • 1998: none awarded
  • 1997: Linda Hogan and Julie Johnson McGowan

Have a question? Contact MLA's grants coordinator.